Reflecting 9 weeks of BCM

“Blogs are distinguished from other websites in their dynamism, reverse chronological presentation and dominant use of the first person. The term “bloggers” refers primarily to those who write them as opposed to those who read them.” – Historian, Rebecca Blood.[1]

It has taken me 2 years to learn to enjoy writing and keeping my blog up to date, but BCM240 has brought about topics that have intrigued my interest and concerns which in return has made it easier to inform readers of past, present, and future crises. Therefore by having the opportunity to voice my opinion, thoughts, and experiences on topics, that have the chance to change views, I was able to learn to engage with audiences on a deeper level and become a full time blogger. These serious topics have been depicted through my blog “Classic Merge” as an easy read, energetic, and engaging style that has targeted a wide demographic.

Nine weeks into BCM240 and I have learnt more about various audiences, media practices, and regulations than I have thought. By using different scholar resources and media platforms, I was able to engage with my audience on a weekly basis and keep up to date on news that referred back to controversial topics. Rebecca Blood mentions in the book “Blogging, Citizenship, and the Future of Media”[2] that bloggers also use links within their posts. Collectively, blogs and the links that connect them are referred to as the blogosphere, a term clearly derivative of the public sphere. Therefore during the first few weeks of blogging when I referred back to the ideas of television, media audiences, cinemas, thinking spatially, and locating the networked home – which in the end all managed to refer back to one another – I linked back to scholar references and historians for further reassurance. For the first task, I decided to link back two of my blog posts. Because my family comes from a European background, it made it difficult to interview and write exactly what my grandfather’s life was like with/without television; therefore I attached post on the idea of thinking spatially, where I received more views and private feedback on.

“Blogs are popular in part because they enable easy, inexpensive self-publication of content for a potentially vast audience on the World Wide Web” (Herring, Scheidt, Bonus & Wright, 2005)[3]

Blogging has become my own diary that I am able to share with people around the world. By giving me stats, I’m able to review where most of my audience is coming from and adapt to what they want to read. Although the stats give me an indication on where my audience is from, it doesn’t give me information on what they expect from me and my writing style. This was a problem I encountered when a post didn’t have my usual viewers. The anxiety of realising I had to constantly adapt to different readers created more controversial comments that I didn’t allow to be posted when audience members believed statistics didn’t refer to them. After a few relaxing moments I reviewed the comments and learnt to disregard readers who disliked the writing style and kept the stylish theme, easy going writing style, and humorous links to create a relaxing environment.

To get me through the problem I reminded myself that bloggers are driven to document their lives, provide commentary and opinions, express deeply felt emotions, articulate ideas through writing, and form and maintain community forums. To reach out to more of a variety of readers to also overcome the negativity I begun to share my posts on forums and media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter, where majority of Communication and Media students, as well as Journalism students, communicate. This helped me share my thoughts as well as receive feedback from students who have also completed the tasks.

The feedback given from the first blog tasks gave me more of an idea on how to write and what to link into my posts. Tutor, Stephanie Hanson, mentions “Good use of secondary sources to support your discussion” which gave me more opportunities to be open minded on using scholar sources instead of typical web paged links. Her positive comments reflected on the great mark I received and gave me the confidence to continue on blogging each week. I was fortunate to receive more positive comments on the design layout of the blog, which I happened to have changed the day before. I believe that having a blog that is set out with categories, images and videos, and tags; helps readers to navigate their way through my blog. Not only did my design create positive feedback, but by promoting visitor participation through using forums, community blogs, and media platforms, my readership increased.

With this positive feedback, I aim to achieve higher readership and input more content that links to certain topics throughout BCM. Therefore I believe that the first task of handing in two blog posts has helped me gain confidence into continuing on blogging, sharing, and commenting throughout, and after, my university degree. It has given me the opportunity to learn a different writing style and by having statistical data I have learnt to cope with understanding the needs of worldwide readers.



[1]
Rebecca Blood. 2000. Rebecca’s Pocket. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.rebeccablood.net/essays/weblog_history.html. [Accessed 2 October 2016].

[2] Tremayne, M.T, 2006. Blogging, Citizenship, and the Future of Media. 1st ed. University of Texas: Routledge.

[3] Herring, S. C. (2004). Slouching toward the ordinary: Current trends in computer mediated communication. New Media & Society, 6(1), 26-36.

Leave a Reply

